Eastern Partnership

They constitute a plan of reforms that will bring the partner countries closer to the EU by aligning their legislation and standards to the EU ones. This will improve peoples’ lives in a tangible way.

Free trade agreements

As part of the association agreements the EU has concluded negotiations on deep and comprehensive free trade area (DCFTA) with Georgia, Moldova and Ukraine to:

  • improve access to goods and services
  • reduce tariffs, quotas, barriers to trade
  • ensure stable legal environment
  • align practices and norms

AA/DCFTAs are opening broad possibilities for business communities and offering an ambitious and modernised cooperation framework.

Visa dialogue

EaP partner countries have been among the first to benefit from mobility partnerships helping their citizens to move around Europe in a secure environment.

Visa facilitation and readmission agreements promote the mobility of the citizens of the eastern partners countries through visa facilitation, and provides rules for managing the return of irregular migrants through readmission agreements.

With the visa liberalisation dialogues, the EU is taking gradual steps towards the long-term goal of visa-free travel for the citizens of certain EaP partners.

In the Council

COEST, the working party on Eastern Europe and Central Asia handles all aspects of EU relations and cooperation with countries in Eastern Europe (Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Moldova, Georgia, Russia and Ukraine) and Central Asia (Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan).

Its work includes frameworks for multilateral cooperation, such as the European Neighbourhood Policy, in particular the Eastern Partnership.

Related Post
© Copyright 2016 South Africa News Gazette | All Rights Reserved