Botswana Signs a Country Programme Framework (CPF) for 2018-2022

Dr Alfred Madigele, Minister of Tertiary Education, Research, Science and Technology signed Botswana’s Country Programme Framework (CPF) for the period of 2018�2022 on 25 January 2018. The signing took place during a ceremony in Gaborone attended by IAEA Director General Yukiya Amano and Shaukat Abdulrazak, Director, Division for Africa, Department of Technical Cooperation. The CPF had been signed by Mr Dazhu Yang, IAEA Deputy Director General and Head of the Department of Technical Cooperation in Vienna prior to the ceremony. A CPF is the frame of reference for the medium-term planning of technical cooperation between a Member State and the IAEA and identifies priority areas where the transfer of nuclear technology and technical cooperation resources will be directed to support national development goals.

Botswana has been an IAEA Member State since 2002. Its 2018�2022 CPF identifies six priority areas:

1. Radiation safety

2. Food and agriculture

3. Human health

4. Water resources management

5. Energy planning

6. Human resources capacity building

Source: International Atomic Energy Agency