Minister Des Van Rooyen visits Metsimaholo Local Municipality, 29 Nov

The Minister of Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (CoGTA), Mr Des van Rooyen, in his capacity as the Chairperson of the Inter-Ministerial Committee on Elections will visit Metsimaholo local municipality under the Fezile Dabi District of the Free State Province on 29 November 2017.

The by-elections will be contested in 21 wards and 59 voting districts of the Metsimaholo Local Municipality. The by-elections follows the decision by the Free State Provincial Government to dissolve the municipality’s former coalition government in July 2017 in terms of Section 139 (4) of the Constitution which provides for the dissolution of a municipal council where it fails in its legal obligation to approve a budget.

Minister van Rooyen will visit a number of voting stations in Metsimaholo to assess the voting process across the municipality.

Source: Government of South Africa