Eastern Cape Human Settlements on OR Tambo rural project winning best rural human settlements award

OR Tambo rural project wins best rural human settlements award in the province

A Human Settlements Development Project built for destitute families in Mqanduli and Coffee Bay within the King Sabata Dalindyebo Municipality has won the accolade of the Best Rural Human Settlements Development Project in the Province at the Provincial Govan Mbeki Awards.

The project will now compete for the National honours at the national Govan Mbeki Awards to be held later this year.

The project is spread over different rural villages, of Kwaaiman, Nothintwa, Mabehana, Twalikhulu, Twalimofu, Zidindi, Maqanyeni, Gojini and Nceduna villages. The scope of the project includes construction of 594 40m2 houses with external and internal plastering, painting, insulated ceiling, electrical tubing, 1 m aprons with tiled roofs. Each household received a VIP toilet and 2500 lt tank and tank stand. The department has spent of R74 million rands on this project to date.

MEC Helen Sauls-August said Human Settlements has a bigger responsibility of ensuring that its programme must also respond to the triple challenge of inequality, poverty and unemployment. The Govan Mbeki awards afford us an opportunity to take stock of the gains we have made and measure the impact of our community development programmes. This year’s awards are a showcase of the successful projects implemented during the 2016/2017 financial year, she said.

The awards were named after the late Govan Mbeki in 2006 based on the role he played and vision he had on the preservation of human dignity and provision of human settlements for all.

The purpose of the award is to showcase work done by the department with special emphasis to its programmes, promotes best practise in the delivery of the core mandate.

Last year, the Province won in the categories of Best Enhanced Peoples Housing Process in Needs Camp and runners up in Best Rural Housing Project for Ebenezer rural project (Mbizana Municipality).

Source: Government of South Africa