Representatives of power utilities from member States of the the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) will meet in the Angolan capital, Luanda, from Feb 22 to 24, according to Angolan electricity distributing company National Electricity Transmission Network (RNT.EP), which is hosting the meeting.

The company said in a statement here Thursday that the 46th annual meeting of the Southern Africa Power Pool (SAPP) would assess the supply of electricity in the member countries to meet the growing demand in the sub-region and to promote inter-connections among the region’s power distribution networks.

The statement added that during the meeting, members of the SAPP’s various sub-committees would be briefed on the structuring of power projects in Angola and analyse the supply-demand situation for electricity in the sub-region.

Other topics on the agenda include the challenges facing SAAP member countries in implementing projects, clean energy development and other matters, it is said.

Meanwhile, the first SADC Power Fair would be held here on the sidelines of the SAPP meeting with the participation of 40 exhibitors.

The SAPP was established at a summit of the Southern African Development Community (SADC), the 14-nation sub-regional grouping, in South Africa in 1995 with all SADC member States, excepting Mauritius, signing the Inter-Governmental Memorandum for the creation of a regional power pool.

The SADC energy ministers signed the Reviewed Inter-Governmental Memorandum for the SAPP on Feb 23, 2006. The SAPP member countries are Angola, Botswana, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Democratic Republic of Congo, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe, which are represented by their respective electricity companies.

The SAPP was established to facilitate the development of southern Africa through the inter-connection of the countries’ electricity networks.

Source: ANGOP