GE16: TDS elected on Day 2 – Simon Coveney elected

A total of 117 TDs have been returned to the 32nd Dáil as counts resumed this morning. 158 seats are available; Ceann Comhairle Sean Barrett (FG) is automatically returned.

Update 2.50pm: Louise O’Reilly (Sinn Féin), Brendan Ryan (Labour) and Alan Farrell (Fine Gael) are elected in Dublin Fingal.

Former Health Minister James Reilly has lost his seat.



Alan Kelly (Labour) and Seamus Healy (Independent) take the final two seats in Tipperary.

Update 14.21pm:

Fine Gael’s Simon Coveney has been elected to Cork South Central as well as Donnchadh Ó Laoighaire for Sinn Féin.

Update 14.03pm:

Mick Barry of Anti Austerity Alliance People Before Profit has been elected to Cork North Central.

Update 13.53pm:

Fianna Fail’s Jim O’Callaghan has taken one of the last two seats in Dublin Bay South, alongside Fine Gael’s Kate O’Connell.

Update 13.36pm:

Fianna Fáil’s Jackie Cahill has been elected in the Tipperary constituency.

Update 13.36pm:

Fine Gael’s Michael Ring has been elected in Mayo.

Update 13.26pm:

Noel Rock (Fine Gael) has been elected to Dublin North-West.

Update 12.25pm:

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan has been elected in Dublin Bay South, along with Eoghan Murphy for Fine Gael.

Update 12.15pm:

Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams has been elected in five-seater Louth, on the sixth count. Fianna Fáil’s Declan Breathnach was also elected.

Gerry Adams at the count centre in Dundalk last night. Picture: AP

Update 11.45am:

Danny Healy-Rae joins his brother Michael in the 32nd Dáil.

In Kerry, Michael and Danny Healy-Rae have become the first siblings ever to represent the same constituency at the same time.

Latest update: 11:16am

Fianna Fáil’s Eamon O Cuiv has been elected in Galway West this morning.

In Tipperary, Independent Mattie McGrath has been elected on the fourth count. He joins Michael Lowry (also running as an Independent), who topped the poll and was elected yesterday.

Fianna Fáil have edged ahead of Fine Gael in terms of seats won – FF are now on 29 seats, while FG have gained 28.

Labour have won four seats, and Sinn Féin returned 13 candidates.

AAA/PBP have take four seats, and Social Democrats three. The Independent Alliance has four seats, while Independents have 11.

Mick Wallace (Ind) was elected earlier this morning in Wexford taking the third seat in the constituency.

Mattie McGrath