McDonald Hanse Re-elected as Mayor of Keetmanshoop

Keetmanshoop – McDonald Hanse, a councillor from the Landless People’s Movement (LPM), has been re-elected as the mayor of Keetmanshoop. During his acceptance speech, Hanse emphasized the importance of collaboration among councillors and council administrators to unify the town’s vision and drive its progress forward.

According to Namibian Press Agency (NAMPA), the era of mediocrity is over, and the council must adopt a more dynamic approach to address the challenges facing Keetmanshoop. He stressed the need for determination, resilience, and a shared commitment to the wellbeing of the town and its citizens. Hanse expressed his gratitude towards the town’s residents, acknowledging their trust and confidence as the driving force behind the council’s efforts.

Hanse admitted to past failures in community consultation but assured residents of a renewed focus on listening to their concerns and working tirelessly to make Keetmanshoop a town to be proud of. The newly formed management committee includes LPM councillors Johannes Vries, Annalise Knouwds, Fatima Jossop, with Vries serving as the chairperson. Ordinary council members include Swapo party councillor Johannes Nghidinwa and Gaudentia Kröhne. Principal Magistrate Uchen Konjore presided over the proceedings.

Related Articles

Back to top button