Leaders FC Triumphs in Inaugural ‘Maracana eau Sissili’ Tournament

LÉO – The ‘Maracana eau Sissili’ tournament concluded its first edition on Saturday, February 24, 2024, in Léo, with Leaders FC clinching the trophy after a tense penalty shootout against Bafana Bafana.

According to Burkina Information Agency, the competition, which kicked off on January 20, 2024, featured 16 teams vying for the title on the Kutian school grounds in Léo, the capital of Sissili province in the Center-West region.

The month-long tournament showcased enthusiastic and talented play from all participating teams, culminating in a final match between Leaders FC and Bafana Bafana. Despite numerous offensive attempts and missed goal opportunities from both sides, the regulation time ended with a scoreless draw, leading to a penalty shootout to determine the champion.

Leaders FC emerged victorious in the shootout, securing a 1-0 victory to be crowned the champions of the tournament’s inaugural edition. The winners were awarded a trophy, a set of ‘eau Sissili’ jerseys, a football, a cash prize of 100,000 FCFA, and medals. Bafana Bafana, as runners-up, received a set of jerseys, a football, and 50,000 FCFA. The third and fourth place teams, SONABEL and Justice, each received jerseys, a football, and 25,000 FCFA.

The tournament’s promoter, El Hadj Ibrahim Kaboré, CEO of the ‘Eau Minerale Sissili’ group, expressed his appreciation for the support from the High Commissioner, sponsors, organizing committee, and community. Kassoum Koalaga, representing the sponsors and President of the special delegation of the commune of Léo, praised the tournament’s smooth progression and the community’s engagement, highlighting the spirit of fair play and conviviality that marked the event.

The High Commissioner of Sissili, Tewendé Isaac Sia, echoed Koalaga’s sentiments, commending the initiative for fostering friendship and camaraderie among the youth of Léo and affirming his support for the tournament’s continuation in the future.