South Africa: Late Goal Leaves Banyana With Plenty to Do to Reach Semis

A late goal saw South Africa lose 1-0 to hosts Cameroon in their second match of the 2016 CAF African Women’s Cup of Nations, Group A clash in Yaounde on Tuesday.

The goal by Genevieve Ngo in the 83rd minute gave the hosts all three points and saw them qualify for the semi-finals of the AWCON. The result has put interim coach Desiree Ellis’ team in a quandary as far as qualifying for the semi-finals is concerned.

Sasol Banyana Banyana knew from the onset that it was never going to be an easy match, but they seemed to have a plan in the first half in which they matched the hosts pound for pound.

Even until the somehow lucky goal, Banyana Banyana had been a match for the hosts who were cheered on by a vociferous capacity crowd.

Ellis brought in Refiloe Jane early in the second half to give the midfield some bite while trying to penetrate the defence and height of the central Africans.

This however did not work as all the balls played into the hosts’ eight-yard area were easily headed out as Banyana Banyana front liners remained frustrated.

Andile Dlamini made a few critical saves in the second half while Nothando Vilakazi and captain Janine Van Wyk had to put their bodies on the line to deny the home side.

‘I believe we had a good game and we gave as good as we got, but this is football. One moment will deny the whole match, that goal in the 83rd minute is something we will have to go back and look into,’ said Ellis.

‘However we still have a game on Friday. We will go back and continue preparing for our last group A match,’ said Ellis.

Banyana will now travel to the city of Limbe on Wednesday to start preparing for the last Group A match against Egypt on Friday.

This match is scheduled for the Limbe Omnisports Stadium and kicks off at 5pm SA time.

How South Africa lined up:

Andile Dlamini(GK); Leandra Smeda; Janine van Wyk (c); Bambanani Mbane; Nothando Vilakazi; Nompumelelo Nyandeni; Mamello Makhabane; Jermanie Seoposenwe; Thembi Kgatlana; Linda Motlhalo; Andisiwe Mcgoyi

Subs: Yolula Tsawe(GK) Roxanne Barker (GK); Astria Boks; Noko Matlou; Lebogang Mabatle; Nomathemba Ntsibande; Amogelang Motau; Refiloe Jane; Silindile Ngubane; Shiwe Nogwanya

Source: South African Sports Confederation and Olympic Committee.

[related_post themes="flat" id="138295"]
© Copyright 2016 South Africa News Gazette | All Rights Reserved