President Jacob Zuma hosts President JoAPound o Manuel Goncalves Lourenco, 23 to 24 Nov

President Zuma to receive President Lourenco of Angola on a State Visit

President Jacob Zuma will host His Excellency, President JoAPound o Manuel Goncalves Lourenco, newly elected President of the Republic of Angola, on a State Visit to South Africa from 23 � 24 November 2017.

President Lourenco will be accompanied by several Cabinet Ministers and senior Government Officials as well as a business delegation that will participate in a Business Forum to discuss investment and trade opportunities between South Africa and Angola.

The two countries enjoy historical and political relations, dating back to the period of the struggles against colonialism and apartheid.

During the State Visit, the two Presidents will review bilateral, regional and continental issues of common concern.

Bilateral relations between the two countries are characterised by strong cooperation in various areas including trade and investment; energy; defence and security, immigration; infrastructure development; arts and culture, mining, tourism, etc.

Concerning economic cooperation, a number of South African companies are involved in Angola in a variety of sectors including construction, mining, housing, retail, food and beverages, hotels and leisure, banking and medical services (rescue).

Currently, Angola is one of South Africa’s major trading partners on the Continent. For example, in 2016 South African exports to Angola stood at R8.2 billion whereas imports from Angola amounted to R18 billion, largely consisting of crude oil.

President Zuma will be accompanied by the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Ms Maite Nkoana-Mashabane; Minister of Defence and Military Veterans, Ms Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula; Minister of Finance, Mr Malusi Gigaba; Minister of Trade and Industry, Dr Rob Davies; Minister of Energy, Mr David Mahlobo; Minister of Agriculture, Forestry and Fisheries, Mr Senzeni Zokwana; Minister of Mineral Resources, Mr Mosebenzi Zwane; Minister of Home Affairs, Ms Ayanda Dlodlo; Minister of Arts and Culture, Mr Nathi Mthethwa; Minister of Police, Mr Fikile Mbalula, and the Minister of Environmental Affairs, Ms Edna Molewa.

Source: Government of South Africa