GE16: As it stands on Day 2 – FG 37, FF 36, SF 17, Lab 6, AAA/PBP 5

A total of 126 TDs have been returned to the 32nd Dáil as counts resumed this morning. 158 seats are available; Ceann Comhairle Sean Barrett (FG) is automatically returned.

Update 4.51pm: Sinn Féin Finance Spokesman Pearse Doherty has been elected on the eighth count in Donegal.

Update 4.44pm: Outgoing Minister for Jobs Richard Bruton has been elected for Fine Gael the eighth count in Dublin Bay North.



Update 3.37pm: James Lawless, Frank O’Rourke (both FF) and Bernard Durkin (FG) have all been elected on the ninth count in Kildare North.

Update 3.57pm: Noel Grealish (Independent) has been elected after Count 13 in Galway West.

Update 3.12pm: Jonathon O’Brien of Sinn Féin has been elected in Cork North Central.



Two Fianna Fáil candidates have taken the final two seats in Mayo – Dara Calleary and Lisa Chambers coming through on the 10th count.

Update 3.04pm: Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams has reiterated that he’s not interested in going into government at any cost.

“We have to wait on until all of the seats are filled and our party, like all the other parties I would presume, will meet over the next 24 hours or so, and make a judgement on that,” he said.

“We’re certainly ruling out, and our ard fheis is certainly very clear on this, going in to prop up the status quo, to be a minority of junior partner.”

Update 2.50pm: Louise O’Reilly (Sinn Féin), Brendan Ryan (Labour) and Alan Farrell (Fine Gael) are elected in Dublin Fingal.

Former Health Minister James Reilly has lost his seat.



Alan Kelly (Labour) and Seamus Healy (Independent) take the final two seats in Tipperary.





Update 14.21pm:

Fine Gael’s Simon Coveney has been elected to Cork South Central as well as Donnchadh Ó Laoighaire for Sinn Féin.

Speaking after his historic election in Cork South Central, newly-minted TD O’Laoghaire said Sinn Fein took the hotly-contested fourth seat as voters wanted a fairer society.

“There‘s a huge amount of anger out there at the Government,” he told Claire O’Sullivan of the Irish Examiner.

“People are looking for an alternative. Irish politics is changing, that’s very clear. This is the first election where Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael will probably have less than half of the vote share. That’s a huge sign – they would have been up at 80% or 90% years ago.

“People are looking for an alternative to austerity, an investment in their communities, in housing, education, in health. We represent that. We represent a more egalitarian analysis of society”.

Update 14.03pm:

Mick Barry of Anti Austerity Alliance People Before Profit has been elected to Cork North Central.

Update 13.53pm:

Fianna Fail’s Jim O’Callaghan has taken one of the last two seats in Dublin Bay South, alongside Fine Gael’s Kate O’Connell.

Update 13.36pm:

Fianna Fáil’s Jackie Cahill has been elected in the Tipperary constituency.

Update 13.36pm:

Fine Gael’s Michael Ring has been elected in Mayo.

Update 13.26pm:

Noel Rock (Fine Gael) has been elected to Dublin North-West.

Update 12.25pm:

Green Party leader Eamon Ryan has been elected in Dublin Bay South, along with Eoghan Murphy for Fine Gael.

Update 12.15pm:

Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams has been elected in five-seater Louth, on the sixth count. Fianna Fáil’s Declan Breathnach was also elected.

Gerry Adams at the count centre in Dundalk last night. Picture: AP

Update 11.45am:

Danny Healy-Rae joins his brother Michael in the 32nd Dáil.

In Kerry, Michael and Danny Healy-Rae have become the first siblings ever to represent the same constituency at the same time.

Latest update: 11:16am

Fianna Fáil’s Eamon O Cuiv has been elected in Galway West this morning.

In Tipperary, Independent Mattie McGrath has been elected on the fourth count. He joins Michael Lowry (also running as an Independent), who topped the poll and was elected yesterday.

Fianna Fáil have edged ahead of Fine Gael in terms of seats won – FF are now on 29 seats, while FG have gained 28.

Labour have won four seats, and Sinn Féin returned 13 candidates.

AAA/PBP have take four seats, and Social Democrats three. The Independent Alliance has four seats, while Independents have 11.

Mick Wallace (Ind) was elected earlier this morning in Wexford taking the third seat in the constituency.

Mattie McGrath